Vocations and Career Collection: Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.
Nursing Resource Center: Whether preparing students for clinical exams, providing homework help, or NCLEX-RN test prep, Nursing Resource Center is a care provider’s must have.
Business Insights: Essentials: Research and analyze companies and industries around the world to prepare for interviews or for determining your course of study.
The Career Place: The Career Place provides comprehensive employment and career services that are easy to access, customer-driven, and linked to the latest technology.
MA Labor and Workforce Development: The Department of Career Services (DCS) oversees Massachusetts’s network of One-Stop Career Centers that assist businesses in finding qualified workers and provide job seekers with career guidance as well as referrals to jobs and training.
MA JobQuest: Find Jobs In Massachusetts with JobQuest! JobQuest is a FREE online service.
Guide to New England colleges and universities 2017: a free online PDF provided by the New England Board of Higher Education. This document provides key data for New England’s independent and public colleges and universities. Also provides advice on majors, using finanical aid offices, and availability of online courses.
Vital Statistics of Massachusetts: digital copies of the annual vital statistics reports for the state of Massachusetts. Covers back to the report issued in 1842.
US Census: digitzed copies of United States Census are available online from the US Deprtment of Commerce Census Bureau. This is organized by census year and then by state. To view the census for Massachusetts look under the desired year (such as 1980) and scroll down to the entry for Massachusetts. You will need to use the Full Document link and download the Massachusetts federal census as a zip file. The Massachusetts Census will not open online. Zip file opens into PDF format.
Woburn Business Association: The Woburn Business Association (WBA) is a membership organization consisting of companies located in Woburn, Massachusetts. Memberships are also available to those firms who are situated elsewhere, but do business in Woburn.
North Suburban Chamber of Commerce: The North Suburban Chamber is a 13-town chamber supporting their members, the community, and the region by promoting growth, visibility, and economic development to all. The Chamber offers a myriad of networking events, workshops, professional events, and more.
Linked in: This social networking tool is popular with job seekers, for it allows you to share your resume and network with other business owners in your area.
Resumes and Vitas: Purdue University: Resources on page design (which includes using white space, headings, and fonts), as well as resources on tailoring your résumé for specific employers
RawResume: A one-sheet that describes various types of resumes. Most appropriate for those in middle management or those reentering the workforce.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select: An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors with a biographical/critical introduction, a listing of principal works, and sources for further study
Literature Resource Center: Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
Britannica Annals of American History: History of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia
Britannica World Data Analyst: Current and historical statistics on the countries of the world with the ability to create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper analysis
Massachusetts History Online: Full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers with coverage of Massachusetts people, places, and historical events
U.S. History in Context: Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. History through reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized
World History in Context: Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History through reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites
Pronunciator: Language learning using conversations, vocabulary, guides, music, film, and feedback to assess progress in wide variety of foreign languages, including ESL instruction in English tailored for speakers of more than 50 languages
American Ancestors: (IN LIBRARY USE ONLY) Dozens of genealogical databases from the New England Historic Genealogical Society, including full text of the New England Historical and Genealogical Record, The Search for Missing Friends, and Massachusetts Vital Records 1841-1910.
Ancestry Library (IN LIBRARY USE ONLY) Thousands of family history databases, including vital records, census records, ship passenger lists, military records and lots more!
HeritageQuest Online: HeritageQuest Online is a digital resource that combines searchable images of U.S. federal genealogical census records with digitized books containing family and local histories from around the country. It includes 25,000 family and local history books, U.S. census records, and PERSI, an index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.
Health and Wellness Resource Center: Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic: Use this database to find articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection: This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.